Mitchell County

Economic Development Commission


PO Box 306 | Osage, Iowa 50461

About Us

The Mitchell County Economic Development Commission (MCEDC) was created in June 2000 to ensure the best possible economic development effort for the county. The nine-member board represents the city councils and economic development groups from Osage, Riceville, St. Ansgar and Stacyville, along with a County Supervisor.

The mission of the Mitchell County Economic Development Commission is primarily to provide a unified economic development effort that will encourage and promote the establishment, development and retention of industrial, manufacturing, commercial, residential and retail interests in Mitchell County, plus promote the county as a desirable place in which to live, to grow, to visit, and to conduct business.
MCEDC Mission
The Commission works with our Economic Development Executive Director to achieve objectives as described in our Business Plan. The Economic Development office is the central point for providing information to encourage economic development, business recruitment, retention and expansion.

Members of the MCEDC are committed to working together to achieve the economic development goals for Mitchell County. It is our hope that this effort will make possible a continual increase in the standard of living for county residents.

We invite you to Come Join Us and take a closer look at Mitchell County.